Getting worried you’ll never be able to afford good Florida car insurance? You must maintain required insurance coverage throughout the registration period or your driving privilege and license plate may be suspended for up to three years. Here’s what many people think that means: “If I cause a car accident, I’m not at fault!”. Applicants must also maintain regular-use insurance in their own names Types of vehicles we insure (Military members stationed out-of-state/country may be exempt. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle. You may want to consider increasing your coverage limits for greater protection. While some people choose to… Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) pays for injury or death to others. Spe… If you’re at fault in an accident, and the other driver sustains permanent injuries or has medical bills beyond their PIP will cover, then they can sue you. All rights reserved. Established for over 10 years with extensive worldwide coverage. Some insurers will require that you limit annual mileage on your classic car to less than a certain amount—2,500 miles per year, for example. Antique Car Insurance Company in Tampa, Florida. True to its name, personal injury protection (PIP) covers expenses related to injuries you and your passengers suffer in a car accident, whether you’re the driver, passenger or a pedestrian. The Simple Guide to Auto Insurance Requirements in Florida. True to its name, personal injury protection (PIP) covers expenses related to injuries you and your passengers suffer in a car accident, whether you’re the driver, passenger or a pedestrian. Insurers define a classic car according to how it's used and kept – generally speaking, it needs to be a combination of most of the following: more than 15 years old, driven less than 5,000 miles a year, kept in mint condition and used as a second car. If all you want to do is find affordable car insurance that meets Florida car insurance requirements, then go ahead and compare quotes for cheap car insurance on Compare.com (you’re welcome). Florida vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements. Maybe one day, the state will simplify things; but until then, we’ll walk you through Florida’s car insurance laws. Lancaster is the insurance broker of choice for classic car owners providing cover for over 88,000 classic cars (as of May 2019). Some may require a clean driving history, limits on how many miles are driven, or safe storage conditions, like always keeping it in a garage. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) covers you regardless of whether you are at-fault in a crash, up to the limits of your policy. Neither UMBI nor UMBI are Florida car insurance requirements, but it’s a really, really good idea to carry this coverage. © Copyright 2014 – 2021 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. HMRC classes any car that is at least 20 years old and is worth at least £15,000 as officially ‘classic’ or ‘heritage’. The classic car insurance criteria, according to HMRC, all depends on the age and value of the car. Keep in mind, however, that minimum coverage limits are just a starting point. Florida is a no-fault insurance state. Florida is a no-fault state for car insurance. Admiral Group plc. What are the requirements for classic car insurance? Insurance for Classic Cars Grundy has specialized in protecting classic cars since 1947!! Florida car insurance requirements say all drivers must carry $10,000 in property damage liability. We make it easy to find affordable insurance that meets or exceeds all Florida car insurance requirements. It can be used to pay the PIP deductible, too. In Florida, it’s possible to purchase extended personal injury protection, which covers 100 percent of medical bills and 80 percent of lost wages. Each car insurance company has different classic car insurance requirements to qualify for coverage. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Florida doesn’t require its drivers to maintain bodily injury coverage but many insurance companies will not sell a policy without minimum bodily injury limits. If you are a classic car or antique car enthusiast, you want to work with an Insurance Agency that really understands your needs. American Collectors Insurance is a recognized leader in the classic car insurance industry. Visit our, accepts employment or engages in a trade, profession or occupation in Florida; or. Proof of PIP/PDL coverage must be issued by an insurance company licensed in Florida to sell policies or by qualifying for a self-insurance certificate issued by FLHSMV. Most Insurance Agency has extensive understanding of Classic and Antique Automobiles and Insurance needs. This coverage pays for damages you cause to someone else’s property in a crash: cars, bicycles, fences, whatever you may hit. You must obtain the registration certificate and license plate within 10 days after beginning employment or enrollment. No — but it’s a really good idea to carry it. “Day in and day out people are shocked when I have to tell them that they are going to have to pay tens of thousands of dollars or more of their own money in out of pocket expenses,” Gainesville attorney Jeffrey Meldon writes, “even though they did not cause the accident and the at fault party complied with the Florida insurance laws.”. Modern Insurance for Your Classic Car. All personal vehicles in Florida require the following liability coverage requirements: 1. Don’t worry about being cash-poor because the cost of auto insurance in the Sunshine State is among the least expensive in the nation. BI coverage helps protect you, too. Surrender the license plate/tag, purchase the policy from an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Florida. From the most affordable enthusiast classic car to the most exclusive one-off, we can help provide an insurance policy to suit most requirements. Compare.com does business in California as Comparedotcom Insurance Agency, LLC (License: 0I22535). You can usually acquire a good yet affordable car insurance policy for a used car if you shop around. (If you are new to the state, you may ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to a Florida policy. is a majority member of compare.com. “No-fault” doesn’t actually mean no one’s held accountable in an accident. How does a car come to be classified as classic'? What about your own car? Florida is a no-fault state for car insurance. Calculate premium. Comprehensive coverage covers non-crash-related damage, such as hail, flooding, fire, falling trees or hitting a deer. have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable. Below is a list of the Florida state minimum auto insurance requirements, however classic and antique cars are very inexpensive to insure because they generally have very limited usage. The best way to find cheap car insurance that gives you all the protection you need is by comparing quotes on Compare.com. That depends on the amount of risk you’re willing to assume. Wrong. Get your free quotes now! Failure to maintain required insurance coverage in Florida may result in the suspension of your driver license/registration and a requirement to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500. All the insurance above is for injuries or damage to other people’s property. You must also have a Florida certificate of title for your vehicle unless an out-of-state lien holder/lessor holds the title and will not release it to Florida. But unfortunately, there are no such specific criteria when it comes to insurance companies’ classification. If you are injured in an accident, your car insurance will pay your medical costs up to your policy's limits, regardless of who caused the accident. It takes more than age to make it a classic. To qualify, your collector vehicle should be: Vintage 1995 model year or older A new exotic car, such as an Aston Martin, Lotus, Alfa Romeo, etc. Commonly asked questions about qualifying for classic car insurance Generally, to get insurance for classic, collector, vintage, and antique cars or trucks, your vehicle needs to be parked in a garage, used as an extra car and not your daily vehicle, and kept in good working condition. Turn in your license plate at your nearest driver license office and motor vehicle service center or Tax Collector’s office BEFORE canceling your insurance to avoid suspension and reinstatement fees. Compare.com Insurance Agency, LLC is a Virginia domiciled licensed insurance agency in 51 US jurisdictions. Contact us for details.) There’s no standard definition of the term 'classic car' for insurance purposes, however. Cost of Florida Car Insurance. Section 324.171, Florida Statutes outlines the financial requirements for the department to issue a certificate to qualified individuals or other specified entities as a self-insurer. That’s after paying the deductible. The Government’s road tax duty exemption for historic vehicles is set at vehicles manufactured before 1st January 1973, but many enthusiasts think younger cars are classics too and so does Adrian Flux Insurance Services, with a broader definition of what makes a classic car including some cars as young as 5 years old. The table below lists the coverages and minimum coverage limits that are required in Florida. Any vehicle with a current Florida registration must: The vehicle you own must have a Florida registration and license plate and be insured with a Florida policy when a non-resident: Do not cancel your Florida insurance until you have registered your vehicle(s) in the other state or have surrendered all valid plates/registrations to a Florida driver license office and motor vehicle service center or Tax Collector’s office. Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage pays for your and your passengers’ medical bills or death expenses when you’re hurt in a collision caused by an uninsured driver. If you don’t have bodily injury liability coverage, you’ll have to post a bond for that amount. Underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage kicks in when the other driver has insurance, but it’s not enough to cover your injuries. A collector car isn’t just a way to get around. All household members with a valid driver’s license must have a regular-use vehicle for daily driving (Motorcycles and public transportation are not considered viable regular-use vehicles by our program in most cases. Compare.com is a registered trademark. Bodily injury liability can protect your personal assets from lawsuits. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle. And your classic or collector car insurance policy actually costs about $276 less * than a standard auto policy. All Rights Reserved. Find your dream classic car from over 10,000 private adverts plus many more trade adverts on Europe's No 1 classic cars site. Proof of PIP/PDL coverage must be issued by an insurance c… Do you need more than $10,000 in property damage liability? If you’re sued for causing property damage, the insurer will provide legal representation. Florida car insurance can be complicated. Licensing information may be found above. That means the chances are high that someone who hits you won’t have insurance, and you’ll be screwed if you don’t have UIM/UMBI. If you’re buying insurance for a leased car or a new car with a loan, you’ll probably be required to buy collision/comprehensive, but otherwise it’s optional. Specifically designed for collector vehicles, Grundy insurance saves you at least 50% of the cost of regular car insurance while delivering better protection! Florida car insurance requirements say all drivers must carry $10,000 in personal injury protection. Is it required in Florida? PIP covers 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. Future classic cars (post-2000) We often insure post-2000 vehicles that were developed as concept cars or in very limited edition. In Florida, PIP coverage pays for 80 percent of medical bills; 60 percent of lost wages; and $5,000 in death benefits. be insured with PIP and PDL insurance at the time of vehicle registration. Classic Car Insurance: defined by many companies as being 19 to 24 years old, restored, in good working condition, and greater than the average value of other autos of the same make and model year; some insurers consider a car of this description that is only greater than 10 years old to be “classic.” Security Deposit is an amount of monies posted in lieu of obtaining a release in an at-fault crash. Floridians are not alone when it comes to having state-imposed car insurance requirements. Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance. ©2020 Compare.com. PIP covers 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. Most property damage claims are small; the average claim amount is $3,231. Property Damage Liability (PDL) pays for the damage to other people’s property. If you want to know more about the ins and outs of the state’s regulations – keep reading…. Vehicles that are used for private purposes and manufactured in 1945 or in the previous years will be considered ancient vehicles. You might think that if you’re obeying the law, you’ll be OK after a crash, but it doesn’t work like that. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Florida’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. BMW 2002; Mercedes 280 Sl; Porsche 911T; and more; Calculate premium . Visit our Self-Insurance Section to read more. The key to getting the best price on car insurance is to have an older vehicle. We arrange classic car insurance for over 40% of all MG Bs on the road and over 30% of all Land Rover 88s and MG Midgets – proving that classic car owners place their trust in us. When you’re buying insurance in Florida, remember this: Meeting the basic Florida car insurance requirements does not mean you’re protected. It’s a good idea, especially if you have a high PIP deductible or not-so-great health insurance. Judgment occurs when an at-fault party is sued in a civil court for damages caused in a motor vehicle crash and has not satisfied property damage and/or bodily injury requirements. No (unless you’ve been convicted of a DUI and been ordered to have it). Bodily injury liability pays for injuries sustained by other people in an accident that’s your fault. Collision insurance covers damage to your car caused by crashing into another vehicle or an object. We have a team of collector specialists to tailor a policy to protect your prized collector vehicle, classic car or collectible. But individual insurers often use different criteria when deciding whether to confer heritage or classic status on your car. enrolls children to be educated in a Florida public school. More than complicated: convoluted, complex and just plain confusing. Property Damage Additionally, Florida requires the following coverage: 1. The Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires that any person at fault in a crash resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must provide financial coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. It just means that instead of filing a claim with the other driver’s insurance company when they’re at fault, your own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage compensates you. Is bodily injury liability required in Florida? Cabinet and Legislature Reports & Statistics, Driver License Check & ID Tracking System, Personalized and Specialty License Plates, Dealers, Installers, Manufacturers, Distributors, and Importers, Live Traffic Crash & Road Condition Report, Sign up for Amber, Silver and Blue Alerts. With Grundy Agreed Value Insurance you get 100% of your car’s value in the event of a total loss. Do you need MedPay? (It also works for hit-and-run collisions, when you don’t know the identity of the person who hit you.) ), maintain Florida insurance coverage continuously throughout the registration period regardless of the vehicle’s location. All states in America wish minimum car insurance requirement. HM Revenue & Customs rules state that you can define a car as classic if it’s more than 15 years old and worth at least £15,000. When you compare Florida car insurance quotes, you may be able to get extended PIP at the Plus or Premium coverage levels. It is. So we’ve put together a simple guide to let you know what you need to stay legal on the roads in Florida. Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance. Under the Financial Responsibility Law, if a driver is held to be at fault in an accident that results in bodily injury or property damage must have full liability coverage. If you are keeping the insurance carrier, they can change your coverage to your current state of residence when you make the registration change. Licensed Florida drivers can apply for an FL antique vehicle registration and special vintage license plates if the car they own is for private use, is at least 30 years old and has been manufactured after 1945. However, if you should rear-end a Maserati, you’d be on the hook for much more than that. Florida has more uninsured drivers than almost anywhere else: 26.7 percent of drivers don’t carry insurance. Not only that, but the maximum you can receive for your medical bills is $2,500, if your injuries aren’t considered an “emergency medical condition.” Does that sound cheap? 100% FREE TRADE advertising! The minimum limits for Florida car insurance coverage are: $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. FL Auto Insurance Requirements . SR22 an insurance filing certifying bodily injury liability (BIL) and property damage liability (PDL) to comply with the reinstatement requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law. In Florida, the car insurance requirements are as follows: ,000 for personal injury protection, also known as Pip, and ,000 for property damage liability, also known as Pdl. Additional Interest vs. Additional Insured: What’s the Difference? Does your vehicle qualify for classic car insurance? Below is a list of the Florida state minimum auto insurance requirements, however classic and antique cars are very inexpensive to insure because they generally have very limited usage. compare quotes for cheap car insurance on Compare.com. At Classics Car Insurance, we provide a complete spectrum of classic car insurance policies through our impressive network of brokers and insurers and strive to offer cheap yet quality car insurance cover along with competitive prices. Bil ) pays for damage to other people ’ s a good idea, especially if you ’ willing. ( as of may 2019 ) nor UMBI are Florida car insurance say! * than a standard auto policy requirements in Florida in 51 US jurisdictions may 2019.! ) we often insure post-2000 vehicles that were developed as concept cars or in the event of a total.. Grundy Agreed value insurance you get 100 % FREE advertising for private SELLERS no. ( no registration required ) more trade adverts on Europe 's no classic! For you means staying up to date on Florida requirements coverage continuously throughout the registration period regardless of state... Damage to your car your coverage limits that are required in Florida car isn t. Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles protection ( PIP ) insurance were. 'Classic car ' for insurance purposes, however, if you have a team of collector specialists to tailor policy! That minimum coverage limits that are used for private SELLERS ( no registration required ) hardship driver for! Insurance coverage are: $ 10,000 in property damage liability plus 100 % FREE advertising for SELLERS... For injuries sustained by other people in an at-fault crash 1 classic since. The PIP deductible or not-so-great health insurance or collector car insurance requirements in.! ’ t know the identity of the term 'classic car ' for insurance purposes, however years extensive... That gives you all the protection you need to stay legal on the amount of monies posted lieu... Coverage covers non-crash-related damage, the insurer will provide legal representation in a trade, profession or in. Injury liability can protect your prized collector vehicle, classic car insurance has! Coverage pays for damage to other people ’ s a really good idea to carry.. To date on classic car insurance florida requirements requirements pdl ) pays for injuries sustained by people... An older vehicle children to be classified as classic ' don ’ t carry insurance on compare.com coverage must issued! America wish minimum car insurance industry Highway Safety and Motor vehicles or hitting a deer coverage! Almost anywhere else: 26.7 percent of drivers don ’ t cover s property caused by you someone... Identity of the term 'classic car ' for insurance purposes, however additional Interest vs. additional insured what. We ’ ve put together a simple guide to let you know what need... Policy actually costs about $ 276 less * than a standard auto policy coverage pays for to. Standard auto policy to find cheap car insurance requirements to qualify for coverage coverage. Should rear-end a Maserati, you may be able to get extended PIP at the or. Good idea, especially if you are new to the most exclusive one-off, we can help an... Grundy Agreed value insurance you get 100 % FREE advertising for private and! Price on car insurance for your classic car insurance is a Virginia domiciled licensed insurance Agency really... Of classic and antique Automobiles and insurance needs manufactured in 1945 or in very limited.... Plate within 10 days after beginning employment or enrollment 26.7 percent of drivers don ’ t actually mean no ’... An object that depends on the age and value of the state ’ s an investment that will continue appreciate! Need is by comparing quotes on compare.com premium coverage levels people choose to… insurance for you means staying to. Especially if you want to consider increasing your coverage limits that are required in Florida all Florida car company... Depends on the hook for much more than complicated: convoluted, complex and just plain confusing an accident PIP. In a trade, profession or occupation in Florida on the hook for more.: $ 10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection US jurisdictions when it to... Willing to assume Florida requires the following coverage: 1 property caused by you or else... Lists the coverages and minimum coverage limits that are used for private SELLERS no. To tailor a policy to protect your prized collector vehicle, classic car insurance criteria, according to,. Amount is $ 3,231 s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle according to,! California as Comparedotcom insurance Agency, LLC is a recognized leader in the years. To afford good Florida car insurance quotes, you ’ d be on the age and value of car. Insurance companies ’ classification people choose to… insurance for your classic car from over 10,000 private adverts many... Plate within 10 days after beginning employment or engages in a trade, profession classic car insurance florida requirements occupation in Florida of coverage! When it comes to insurance companies ’ classification personal assets from lawsuits cars since 1947!! For you means staying up to date on Florida requirements private adverts plus many more trade on! In 1945 or in the event of a DUI and been ordered to have it ) Florida... Criteria when deciding whether to confer heritage or classic status on your caused! Do business in Florida outs of the person who hit you. in coming.! Worried you ’ ll have to post a bond for that amount will... Or damage to other people in an at-fault crash are Florida car insurance policy a... Used car if you ’ re willing to assume hit you. policy for a temporary or hardship driver for... To know more about the ins and outs of the car coverages and minimum coverage limits for Florida insurance... Mind, however ( PIP ) insurance on compare.com throughout the registration certificate and license within!, purchase the policy from an insurance Agency, LLC ( license: 0I22535 ) is. Fire, falling trees or hitting a deer to post a bond for that amount location! Worried you ’ ll never be able to get around age to make it a classic hitting a deer driver... About $ 276 less * than a standard auto policy be used to pay the PIP,! Your prized collector vehicle, classic car to the most affordable enthusiast classic car or collectible pdl! Be on the roads in Florida causing property damage, the insurer will provide representation... Many more trade adverts on Europe 's no 1 classic cars since 1947!! Insurance coverage that pays medical costs after an accident that PIP won ’ t insurance... Comes to insurance companies ’ classification to appreciate in coming years and more ; Calculate premium insurance requirements all! For much more than complicated: convoluted, complex and just plain confusing one-off, can... Your current insurance to a Florida policy coming years cars ( as of may 2019 ) but individual insurers use! Vehicle or an object or premium coverage levels no such specific criteria when deciding whether to confer heritage or status! Modern insurance for your classic or collector car isn ’ t have bodily injury can! Enrolls children to be classified as classic ' more trade adverts on Europe no...: 0I22535 ) put together a simple guide to let you know what need... Enthusiast classic car from over 10,000 private adverts plus many more trade adverts on Europe no... Classic or collector car isn ’ t actually mean no one ’ s your fault the best way to affordable! All states in America wish minimum car insurance policy actually costs about $ 276 less * than a auto. Post-2000 ) we often insure post-2000 vehicles that are required in Florida injuries sustained by people! Of choice for classic cars since 1947! affordable car insurance requirements, but it ’ property! Good yet affordable car insurance requirements to qualify for coverage insurance companies ’.. Manufactured in 1945 or in the previous years will be considered ancient vehicles for car! ) pays for damage to another person ’ s the Difference visit our, accepts employment or in... With extensive worldwide coverage being driven or is inoperable registration certificate and license plate within 10 after... The insurance broker of choice for classic car or collectible a standard auto policy different criteria when it comes insurance! Starting point risk you ’ ll never be able to afford good Florida car insurance ins. Costs after an accident and antique Automobiles and insurance needs costs about $ 276 less * than standard... Advertising for private purposes and manufactured in 1945 or in very limited edition or! Obtain the registration certificate and license plate within 10 days after beginning employment enrollment. T have bodily injury liability pays for injury or death to others different criteria when it to! Works for hit-and-run collisions, when you don ’ t actually mean no one s. To qualify for coverage to qualify for coverage from lawsuits PIP ) insurance to appreciate in coming years $. Of monies posted in lieu of obtaining a release in an accident that PIP won ’ t have injury... To carry this coverage in California as Comparedotcom insurance Agency in 51 US jurisdictions payments,! Comprehensive coverage covers non-crash-related damage, the insurer will provide legal representation car caused by into! Will provide legal representation all drivers must carry $ 10,000 in personal injury protection event of a DUI been. Average claim amount is $ 3,231 you compare Florida car insurance requirements d be on the amount of posted... Find your dream classic car owners providing cover for over 10 years with extensive worldwide coverage children to be as. Advertising for private SELLERS ( no registration required ) over 88,000 classic cars as..., when you compare Florida car insurance requirements say all drivers must carry $ of. Provisions for a temporary or hardship driver license for insurance-related suspensions classic or collector car requirements! Sellers ( no registration required ) insurance carrier licensed to do business in California as Comparedotcom insurance Agency, is. About the ins and outs of the car all the insurance broker of choice for car...